Staff & Board

Joshua Tree Headquarters & Native Plant Restoration Nursery

Center for Conservation Initiatives

60124 29 Palms Hwy
PO Box 1544
Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Phone: (760) 366-5440
Fax: (888) 869-4981
info@mdlt.org

Map & Directions


MDLT Staff

Executive Team

Rich Weideman
Interim Executive Director
rich@mdlt.org

Madena Asbell
Director of Plant Conservation Programs
madena@mdlt.org

Kayla Lawrence
Director of Operations
kayla@mdlt.org

Jessica Dacey
Director of Communications
jessica@mdlt.org

Michael Mora
Director of Outreach & Volunteer Services
michael@mdlt.org


Acquisition Team

Allyson Lavender
Acquisitions Manager
allyson@mdlt.org

Chatel McKettrick
Acquisitions Coordinator
chatel@mdlt.org


Stewardship Team

Peter Satin
Land Stewardship Supervisor
peter@mdlt.org

Patrick Wiener
Land Stewardship Coordinator
patrick@mdlt.org

Emmalyn Snead
Land Steward
emmalyn@mdlt.org

Tommy Heider
Land Steward
tommy@mdlt.org


Nursery Team

Dan Burns
Nursery & Seed Bank Supervisor
dan@mdlt.org

Marinna Wagner
Nursery & Seed Bank Technician

Ashley Coon
Nursery & Seed Bank Technician


Communications Team

Stephanie Shepard
Public Policy Coordinator
stephanie@mdlt.org


Operations & Development Team

Lesley Nuno Hughes
Development Supervisor
lesley@mdlt.org

Brandy Dyess
Development Coordinator
brandy@mdlt.org

Mariah Simpson
Operations Assistant
mariah@mdlt.org

Lidia Campa
Lands Operations Assistant
lidia@mdlt.org


Outreach & Volunteer Team

Adam Henne
Volunteer & Outreach Coordinator
adam@mdlt.org

Cindy Holland
Public Engagement Coordinator
cindy@mdlt.org


Finance Team

Ernesto Frias
Business Manager
ernesto@mdlt.org

Dayanna Watts
Accounts Payable Clerk
dayanna@mdlt.org


If you would like to be a part of our team, please see below for our open positions:

Career Page


Board of Directors

John Simpson
President
Founding member of MDLT, real estate executive

Geary Hund
Treasurer
National Resources Manager and Biological Scientist of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Michael Avila
Secretary
Vice President of Development for the John Wayne Cancer Institute at Providence Saint John’s Health Center

Gwen Barker
Director
Rimrock Ranch Owner and marketing extraordinaire

Peter Brooks
Director
Former marine, water industry executive, and defense writer

Jon Christensen
Director
Professor of history and digital humanities at UCLA, journalist, and communications expert

Robyn Helmlinger
Director
Attorney with Squire Patton Boggs

Kelly Herbinson
Director
Desert tortoise conservation researcher and author

Jane Smith
Director
Founding MDLT Board member, Owner of the 29 Palms Inn